April 2016 Committee of the Full Board Tuesday Item 4

Update on the Texas Commission on Next Generation Assessments and Accountability

April 5, 2016


The committee will receive an update on the Texas Commission on Next Generation Assessments and Accountability.

Review and Comment.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION AND SIGNIFICANT ISSUES: The 84th Texas Legislature passed House Bill 2804 in the spring of 2015. The bill revises the state accountability rating system and it established the Texas Commission on Next Generation Assessments and Accountability.

The legislation directs the commission to develop and make recommendations for new systems of student assessment and public school accountability. The recommendations are to address the purpose of a state accountability system and the role of student assessment; opportunities to assess students that provide actionable information; support learning activities; recognize the application of skills and knowledge; measure student educational growth towards mastery; and value critical thinking.

Commission recommendations will also address alignment of state performance standards with college and career readiness; policy changes to enable student progress; policy changes necessary to meet state goals, as well as policy changes that are community based, promote parent and community involvement, and reflect unique community needs.

The commission is composed of 15 appointed members who are:

• Andrew Kim – Commission Chair, Superintendent, Comal ISD, New Braunfels
• Stacy Hock – Vice Chair, Co-owner of Hock, LLC, Austin
• Kim Alexander – Superintendent, Roscoe Collegiate ISD, Roscoe
• Jimmie Don Aycock – Chair, House Committee on Public Education, Texas House of Representatives, Killeen
• Erika Beltran – Member, State Board of Education, District 13, Fort Worth
• Paul Castro – Superintendent, A+ Unlimited Potential Charter School District, Houston
• Pauline Dow – Chief Instructional Officer, North East ISD, San Antonio
• Maria Hernandez Ferrier – Director of Mexico and Latin America Relations, Texas A&M System, San Antonio
• Michael McLendon – Dean, School of Education, Baylor University, Waco
• Kel Seliger – Chair, Senate Committee on Higher Education, Texas Senate, Amarillo
• Catherine Susser – Member, Board of Trustees, Corpus Christi ISD, Corpus Christi
• Larry Taylor – Chair, Senate Committee on Education, Texas Senate, Friendswood
• Theresa Trevino – Board Member, Texans Advocating for Meaningful Student Assessment, Austin
• Quinton Vance – Executive Director, KIPP: Dallas-Fort Worth College Preparatory Charter Schools, Dallas
• John Zerwas, Chair, House Committee on Higher Education, Texas House of Representatives, Richmond

The commission met on January 20, February 23 and March 23. Board member Erika Beltran, a commission member, will provide an update on the commission’s work to date. The commission will develop a report that makes recommendations for statutory changes. The report is to be delivered to the governor and legislature by September 1, 2016. The commission is abolished on January 1, 2017.

Staff Members Responsible:
Gene Acuna, Director
Division of Communications and SBOE Support

Debbie Ratcliffe, Director of Media Relations
Division of Communications and SBOE Support