November 2017 Resolution National History Day Winners

WHEREAS the State Board of Education considers high academic standards as the foundation of public education in Texas; and

WHEREAS the National History Day program fosters academic achievement and intellectual growth, requires student participants to conduct extensive primary and secondary source research on a topic of historical significance, and promotes pride in each student participant’s heritage and in our nation’s history and place in the world; and

WHEREAS the annual National History Day contest with the theme of Taking a Stand in History was held in College Park, Maryland, on June 11-15, 2017; and

WHEREAS Madeleine Broussard and Brandon Broussard of Gentry Junior High School in Baytown, Texas, won First Place in the Junior Division Group Performance category with their performance titled Fanning the Flame and Inspiring the Fourth; and

WHEREAS Havi Nguyen of Ross S. Sterling High School in Baytown, Texas, won Second Place in the Senior Division Individual Exhibit category with her exhibit titled Lewis Hine: Capturing the Injustice of Child Labor; and

WHEREAS Danielle Garcia and Priscila Garcia of Ross S. Sterling High School in Baytown, Texas, won Second Place in the Senior Division Group Exhibit category with their exhibit titled Freedom Riders: Freedom’s Wheels Are Rolling; and

WHEREAS Westley Sturhan of Highland Park High School in Dallas, Texas, won Third Place in the Senior Division Individual Performance category with his performance titled Alternating Current: Powering the Future; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the State Board of Education does hereby congratulate these 2017 National History Day winners from the Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District and Highland Park Independent School District; and be it further

RESOLVED, That this resolution be presented to the aforementioned students for their winning projects at the 2017 National History Day contest and that a copy be included in the permanent records of the State Board of Education.

WITNESS our signatures this tenth day of November, two thousand and seventeen, in Austin, Texas.

Donna Bahorich, Chair

Ruben Cortez, Jr., Secretary