Figure: 19 TAC §30.1(a)

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Petition for Adoption of a Rule

The Texas Government Code, §2001.021, provides that any interested person may petition an agency requesting the adoption of a rule.

Petitions should be signed and submitted to:

Commissioner of Education

Texas Education Agency

1701 North Congress Avenue

Austin, Texas 78701-1494

Name: Renda Songer

Affiliation/Organization: Keller Center for Advanced Learning

Address: 201 Bursey Rd., Keller, Texas 76248

Telephone: 8177438051 Cell phone: 9729741490

Date: 08/19/2016

Proposed rule text (indicate words to be added or deleted from the current text):

CURRENT TEXT: 130.283 Cosmetology I (Two Credits), Adopted 2015

(a) General requirements. This course is recommended for students in Grades 10 and 11. Recommended prerequisite: Introduction to Cosmetology. Student shall be awarded two credits for successful completion of this course.

PROPOSED TEXT: 130.283 Cosmetology I (Three Credits)

(a) General requirements. This course is recommended for students in Grades 10 and 11. Recommended prerequisite: Introduction to Cosmetology. Students shall be awarded three credits for successful completion of the course.

Statutory authority for the proposed rule action:

Texas Education Code 7.102 (c) (4), 28.002, 28.0022, and 28.025

Why is this rule action necessary or desirable?

- 1. I was a member of the TEKS revision committee for this course. We focused on increasing the rigor of the Essential Knowledge and Skills of this course to support an increase in the number of students that are successful in obtaining their certification by passing the written and practical exam. We included comments with our revision requesting that the credits remain 2-3 to allow districts to schedule their courses in a way that would best serve students. However, our understanding was that the SBOE really wanted all courses to be assigned a solid credit to ensure a students ability to transfer. Although that is not an issue with cosmetology students at this time because of the clock hour basis of our courses, we did state in our recommendations that if a solid credit must be assigned to this course, it would need to be 3 credits. A recent review of the April 2015 SBOE meeting video revealed that these comments had not be relayed to the SBOE during the adoption proceedings. We believe this to have been an oversight and are seeking to remedy this situation prior to implementation of the new TEKS in the 17-18 school year.
- 2. Over 90% of Texas High Schools that offer Cosmetology are currently offering Cosmetology I for 3 credits.
- 3. School districts are now tracking student's attendance by minutes. An average class period in a regular school days having 8 periods is 45 minutes. A two credit class allows the student 90 minutes a day, provided all 170 days are attended and the student is not ill, a member of the band, or sporting team, which they may have other responsibilities to attend, missing class, the student will have 15,300 minutes, or 355 hours in one year. 710 hours in two years. Far short of the 1000 hours required by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.
- With the support of Palestine ISD, I submitted applications for 2 innovative courses for Cosmetology each for 1 credit. Principles of Cosmetology Design & Color Theory for 1 credit and Microbiology for Cosmetology Occupations for 1 credit. The cosmetology Design course will be a TEKS based course for the 17-18 school year. Our committee wanted to add the principle course to alleviate the hardship cosmetology programs have always endured to help their students complete 1000 hours prior to graduation. The Texas Cosmetology Operator Course is regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Currently, this course requires 1500 clock hours. In a Texas High School Cosmetology Program, if a student completes 1000 hours, they are granted 500 academic hours by TDLR from their core academic high school courses. If a student graduates from high school and they only have been able to clock 800 hours, in order to complete their certification they will have to enroll in a post secondary program at their own expense. They no longer receive the 500 academic hours and they now have to clock 1500 hours. This creates a financial burden for students. Many who have experienced this in past years never complete their course or obtain their certification. Reducing the credits from 3 credits to 2 credits essentially makes the work of our committee to reduce the burden of the time

- constraints in high school cosmetology courses fruitless. Essentially, we are back at the beginning and possibly in an even more difficult position with the move to an ISD minute calendar.
- 5. Many Texas High Schools have partnered with local community colleges in offering Dual Credit Cosmetology. Last year, I had three students who earned an Associate of Applied Science Degree in Cosmetology through Navarro College. Reducing the applicable credits for this course to 2 credits will create a hardship for teachers in the alignment process with community colleges. Quite simply, we will not have enough PEIMS codes available to continue offering dual credit.

Petitioner's Signature

Figure: 19 TAC §30.1(a)

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Petition for Adoption of a Rule

The Texas Government Code, §2001.021, provides that any interested person may petition an agency requesting the adoption of a rule.

Petitions should be signed and submitted to:

Commissioner of Education

Texas Education Agency

1701 North Congress Avenue

Austin, Texas 78701-1494

Name: Renda Songer

Affiliation/Organization: Keller Center for Advanced Learning

Address: 201 Bursey Rd., Keller, Texas 76248

Telephone: 8177438051 Cell phone: 9729741490

Date: 08/19/2016

Proposed rule text (indicate words to be added or deleted from the current text):

CURRENT TEXT: 130.284 Cosmetology II (Two Credits), Adopted 2015 (a) General requirements. This course is recommended for students in Grades 11 and 12. Recommended prerequisite: Cosmetology I. Student shall be awarded two credits for successful completion of this course.

PROPOSED TEXT: 130.284 Cosmetology II (Three Credits)

(a) General requirements. This course is recommended for students in Grades 11 and 12. Recommended prerequisite: Cosmetology I. Students shall be awarded three credits for successful completion of the course.

Statutory authority for the proposed rule action:

Texas Education Code 7.102 (c) (4), 28.002, 28.0022, and 28.025

Why is this rule action necessary or desirable?

- 1. I was a member of the TEKS revision committee for this course. We focused on increasing the rigor of the Essential Knowledge and Skills of this course to support an increase in the number of students that are successful in obtaining their certification by passing the written and practical exam. We included comments with our revision requesting that the credits remain 2-3 to allow districts to schedule their courses in a way that would best serve students. However, our understanding was that the SBOE really wanted all courses to be assigned a solid credit to ensure a students ability to transfer. Although that is not an issue with cosmetology students at this time because of the clock hour basis of our courses, we did state in our recommendations that if a solid credit must be assigned to this course, it would need to be 3 credits. A recent review of the April 2015 SBOE meeting video revealed that these comments had not be relayed to the SBOE during the adoption proceedings. We believe this to have been an oversight and are seeking to remedy this situation prior to implementation of the new TEKS in the 17-18 school year.
- 2. Over 90% of Texas High Schools that offer Cosmetology are currently offering Cosmetology II for 3 credits.
- 3. School districts are now tracking student's attendance by minutes. An average class period in a regular school days having 8 periods is 45 minutes. A two credit class allows the student 90 minutes a day, provided all 170 days are attended and the student is not ill, a member of the band, or sporting team, which they may have other responsibilities to attend, missing class, the student will have 15,300 minutes, or 355 hours in one year. 710 hours in two years. Far short of the 1000 hours required by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.
- With the support of Palestine ISD, I submitted applications for 2 innovative courses for Cosmetology each for 1 credit. Principles of Cosmetology Design & Color Theory for 1 credit and Microbiology for Cosmetology Occupations for 1 credit. The cosmetology Design course will be a TEKS based course for the 17-18 school year. Our committee wanted to add the principle course to alleviate the hardship cosmetology programs have always endured to help their students complete 1000 hours prior to graduation. The Texas Cosmetology Operator Course is regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Currently, this course requires 1500 clock hours. In a Texas High School Cosmetology Program, if a student completes 1000 hours, they are granted 500 academic hours by TDLR from their core academic high school courses. If a student graduates from high school and they only have been able to clock 800 hours, in order to complete their certification they will have to enroll in a post secondary program at their own expense. They no longer receive the 500 academic hours and they now have to clock 1500 hours. This creates a financial burden for students. Many who have experienced this in past years never complete their course or obtain their certification. Reducing the credits from 3 credits to 2 credits essentially makes the work of our committee to reduce the burden of the time

- constraints in high school cosmetology courses fruitless. Essentially, we are back at the beginning and possibly in an even more difficult position with the move to an ISD minute calendar.
- 5. Many Texas High Schools have partnered with local community colleges in offering Dual Credit Cosmetology. Last year, I had three students who earned an Associate of Applied Science Degree in Cosmetology through Navarro College. Reducing the applicable credits for this course to 2 credits will create a hardship for teachers in the alignment process with community colleges. Quite simply, we will not have enough PEIMS codes available to continue offering dual credit.

Petitioner's Signature