

# **Texas Commission on Public School Finance**

# **Agenda** Thursday, April 19, 2018 9:00 a.m. Room 1-104, William B. Travis Building

I. Call to Order

#### II. Chair's Opening Remarks

#### III. Tax Policy Issues

- A. Nicole Kaeding, Director of Special Projects, Tax Foundation
- B. Steven Sheffrin, Professor of Economics and Executive Director of Murphy Institute, Tulane University
- C. Daphne A. Kenyon, Resident Fellow in Tax Policy, Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
- D. Lisa Christensen Gee, Institute on Taxation and Economic Policy

#### IV. Current Sources of Public Education Funding

- A. Leo Lopez, Chief School Finance Officer, Texas Education Agency
- B. Karey Barton, Associate Deputy Comptroller for Tax, Comptroller of Public Accounts (Resource Witness Only)

## V. Tax Policy Issues (Cont.)

- A. Michael Amezquita, Chief Appraiser, Bexar Appraisal District
- B. Catherine Clark, Associate Executive Director of Governance Services, TASB
- C. Dale Craymer, President, Texas Taxpayers and Research Association
- D. Ray Freeman, Executive Director, Equity Center
- E. Dick Lavine, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Center for Public Policy Priorities
- F. David Thompson, Partner, Thompson and Horton
- G. Joe Wisnoski, Associate, Moak Casey

## VI. Closing Remarks and Adjournment

Witness order may be changed subject the discretion of the Chairman.