

## To the Administrator Addressed

**Commissioner Mike Morath** 

1701 North Congress Avenue • Austin, Texas 78701-1494 • 512 463-9734 • 512 463-9838 FAX • tea.texas.gov

DATE:	October 17, 2019
SUBJECT:	House Bill 3 (HB 3) Implementation: Reading Advisory Committee
CATEGORY:	School Programs – Reading Support
NEXT STEPS:	No Action Required

The 86<sup>th</sup> Texas Legislature passed House Bill 3 and House Bill 3906 which, among other things, created five advisory committees to support public education:

- Reading Standards K-3 Advisory Committee
- Special Education Allotment Advisory Committee
- Compensatory Education Allotment Advisory Committee
- Financial Aid Advisory Committee
- Assessment Educator Advisory Committee

In accordance with House Bill 3, Commissioner Morath is convening a **Reading Advisory Committee** to advise the agency on current plans that support reading. The following individuals have been selected for the committee appointment with three meetings to be held during the 2019-2020 school year:

Dr. Stephanie Al Otaiba, Ph.D. Dr. Whitney Lawrence, Ph.D.

Dallas, Texas Euless, Texas

Dr. Elsa Cárdenas-Hagan, Ph.D.

Derek Little
Brownsville, Texas

Dallas, Texas

Rebecca De Leon Cynthia Montes-Bustamante San Antonio, Texas El Paso, Texas

Dr. Jack Fletcher, Ph.D.

Houston, Texas

Barbara Page
Woodway, Texas

Elizabeth Franco Dr. Susan Silva, Ph.D. Midland, Texas League City, Texas

Brett Gallini Dr. Sharon Vaughn, Ph.D. Austin, Texas

Dr. Elizabeth Garza, Ph.D.

Katy, Texas

Dr. David Vinson, Ph.D.

Wylie, Texas

Dr. Tracy Weeden, Ed.D.

Dr. Mary Ellen Isaacs, Ph,D.

Austin, Texas

Dr. Tracy Weeden, Ed.D.

Houston, Texas

## Questions

If you have any questions related to the Reading Advisory Committee, email <a href="mailto:earlychildhoodeducation@tea.texas.gov">earlychildhoodeducation@tea.texas.gov</a> or email <a href="mailto:HB3info@tea.texas.gov">HB3info@tea.texas.gov</a>.

Sincerely, Jacquie Porter Statewide Director of Early Childhood Education