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The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) is the agency responsible for overseeing  the 
decision-making and distribution related to vaccinations in Texas.  Please visit its COVID-19 Vaccine 
Information webpage for the most up-to-date COVID-19 vaccination information.  For general COVID-
19 vaccine information, please visit the Center for Disease Control (CDC) Vaccines webpage.  
 
TEA is providing this FAQ as a resource to school systems that are interested in the impact the 
vaccine might have on their respective school systems.    
 
1. When will teachers be eligible to receive the COVID-19 vaccine?  

 
Please see the Department of State Health Services School and Child Care Personnel Now Eligible 
To Be Vaccinated release for more information on school personnel vaccine eligibility. 

 

2. I work at a school and am trying to locate a vaccine.  Where can I obtain that information?  

The Department of State Health Services and the Texas Division of Emergency Management have 
a Texas COVID 19 Vaccine Availability map.  You may also access the list of vaccine hubs and 
check their website for vaccine availability.  
 

3. I am eligible to receive the vaccine, is there a cost associated with obtaining the vaccine?  

No.  The recipient of the vaccine will not be required to pay any out-of-pocket expenses to obtain 
the vaccine.  Please see the Center for Disease Control (CDC) FAQ related to paying for the 
COVID-19 vaccine for more general information.   
 

4. Can a school district require an eligible educator to receive the vaccine? UPDATED June 15, 
2021 

As this matter falls outside of TEA’s jurisdiction, a school district or open-enrollment charter 
school should confer with its legal counsel regarding any questions it may have regarding this 
matter. 

 
For general reference, please see the following: 
• Governor Abbott’s Executive Order GA-35, regarding government-mandated COVID-19 

vaccination documentation 
• The Texas Workforce Commission’s Texas Business Today, First Quarter 2021, regarding legal 

issues involved in employers mandating employee COVID-19 vaccinations 
• The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission’s COVID-19 guidance, particularly 

Section K of the guidance, regarding employer-mandated vaccinations 

https://www.dshs.state.tx.us/coronavirus/immunize/vaccine.aspx
https://www.dshs.state.tx.us/coronavirus/immunize/vaccine.aspx
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/index.html
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/news/releases/2021/20210303.aspx
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/news/releases/2021/20210303.aspx
https://tdem.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=3700a84845c5470cb0dc3ddace5c376b
https://dshs.texas.gov/coronavirus/immunize/vaccine-hubs.aspx
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/faq.html
https://nam10.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.eeoc.gov%2Fwysk%2Fwhat-you-should-know-about-covid-19-and-ada-rehabilitation-act-and-other-eeo-laws%3Futm_content%3D%26utm_medium%3Demail%26utm_name%3D%26utm_source%3Dgovdelivery%26utm_term%3D&data=04%7C01%7CJulie.Kopycinski%40tea.texas.gov%7C31fbfd7df23d462f951108d9303d1c26%7C65d6b3c3723648189613248dbd713a6f%7C0%7C0%7C637593861279520667%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=yYFo1PWLLTaPmgIoj9Ui78%2FWn7VouwAfV5KD5yynPuw%3D&reserved=0
https://nam10.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.twc.texas.gov%2Ffiles%2Fbusinesses%2Ftexas-business-today-1st-quarter-2021-twc.pdf&data=04%7C01%7CJulie.Kopycinski%40tea.texas.gov%7C31fbfd7df23d462f951108d9303d1c26%7C65d6b3c3723648189613248dbd713a6f%7C0%7C0%7C637593861279520667%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=DeFjkJBa8pyRNaRWVCIdipXYnEVDdAhIxoPrlhnl%2FSo%3D&reserved=0
https://nam10.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.eeoc.gov%2Fwysk%2Fwhat-you-should-know-about-covid-19-and-ada-rehabilitation-act-and-other-eeo-laws%3Futm_content%3D%26utm_medium%3Demail%26utm_name%3D%26utm_source%3Dgovdelivery%26utm_term%3D&data=04%7C01%7CJulie.Kopycinski%40tea.texas.gov%7C31fbfd7df23d462f951108d9303d1c26%7C65d6b3c3723648189613248dbd713a6f%7C0%7C0%7C637593861279530665%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=KWNx1WCbUAQ%2FM7KycSp4zr26L41zknX%2F6sd4PsBgqB4%3D&reserved=0
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5. Can a school district ask a teacher if they have been vaccinated?  

 
School districts should reach out to their legal counsel to determine potential legal implications of 
requesting this information, including issues related to the Americans with Disabilities Act and 
the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA).  

 
6. Can my school system become an approved COVID-19 Vaccine Provider to administer vaccines 

directly to our school personnel?  

The COVID-19 vaccine will be distributed to qualifying facilities, organizations, and healthcare 
providers licensed to possess or administer vaccines or provide vaccination services.  School 
systems should review How to Become a Texas COVID-19 Vaccine Provider if they are interested 
in applying to become a COVID-19 vaccination provider.  
 

7. I’m an approved COVID-19 Vaccine Provider but have questions about my allocation.  Who do I 
contact?  

Please ensure you have reviewed the Vaccine Provider FAQ from the Department of State Health 
Services.  If you still have questions after review, please email COVID19VacEnroll@dshs.texas.gov 
or call 877-835-7750. 

 
 
 

https://tea.texas.gov/sites/default/files/covid/TEA-CDC-COVID-provider.pdf
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/coronavirus/immunize/vaccine/providerfaq.aspx
mailto:COVID19VacEnroll@dshs.texas.gov

