Commissioner with students

Statewide education leadership in Texas is provided by the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education, and the State Board for Educator Certification.

Texas Education Agency

Commissioner of Education

The head of the TEA is the Commissioner of Education, who is appointed to this post by the governor. The Commissioner is supported by a hierarchy of deputy commissioners, associate commissioners, division directors, and agency staff.

TEA Organizational Chart

The TEA Organizational Chart (PDF) illustrates agency hierarchy. You can find more information about agency divisions on the TEA Divisions page.

State Board of Education

The TEA and the State Board of Education (SBOE) guide and monitor activities and programs related to public education in Texas. The SBOE consists of 15 elected members representing different regions of the state. One member is appointed chair by the governor.

State Board for Educator Certification

The State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) was created by the Texas Legislature in 1995 to recognize public school educators as professionals and grant educators the authority to govern the standards of their profession. The Board oversees all aspects of the preparation, certification and standards of conduct of public school educators.

The Texas Education Code requires that the governor appoint the following 11 voting members of the SBEC board, for six-year terms: four classroom teachers, one counselor, two administrators, and four citizens. Three non-voting members also serve on the board. The governor appoints a dean of a college of education. The Commissioner of Education appoints a staff member of the Texas Education Agency. The Commissioner of Higher Education appoints a staff member of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.